Cancelling your plan.

This support article will give you key information about cancelling one service under your account, and closing all your services and leaving Vodafone.

How to close your service.

You can close your service by giving us a call on 1555 from your Vodafone phone or 1300 650 410 from another phone.

If you’re overseas, you can close your service by calling +61 426 320 000.

If you’re closing your service without transferring your number to another provider, the number won’t be active from the end of your last billing cycle.

How to transfer your number from Vodafone to another provider.

We’re sorry to see you go. At Vodafone, we regularly invest in our network and continuingly update our plans – so feel free to give us a call when you’d like to return to us.

If you’re transferring your mobile number to another provider, you’ll need to organise it through your new mobile provider.

To transfer your number to another to another provider:

  • You must be the account holder.
  • The number must be active with us at the time of the transfer.
  • You will need to provide your new provider with your Vodafone account number.
 

We charge $8 to transfer your number to another provider.

Additional information

How much will it cost to close my service?

If you signed up to a Red Plus Plan or Red Plan with a Mobile Payment Plan, you’ll need to pay the remainder of your Mobile Payment Plan to close your service. You will also need to pay any outstanding charges on your account.

If you signed up to a Month to Month SIM Only Plan, there’s no cost for closing your service.

If you’re on a 12 or 24 month plan and still within your contract period when you close your service, you’ll be charged an Early Exit Fee on your final bill. This fee is calculated by multiplying 50% of your monthly plan fee by the number of months you have left on your contract, plus 100% of any remaining device instalments.

For 24 month Tablet Plans, the Early Exit Fee is calculated by multiplying 65% of your monthly plan fee by the number of months you have left on your contract, plus 100% of any remaining device instalments.

If you have an Accessories Payment Plan or Mobile Payment Plan with any plan, you’ll need to pay them out before you leave.

How will I be charged on my final bill?

Final bills are issued on the next billing date after disconnection. Your final bill will go to the last address you had with us. Please ensure that you provide us with an active email or postal address for your final bill. If you don’t receive your final bill, give us a call on 1300 650 410.

Our plans are charged one month in advance, which means when you cancel your service your final bill will typically be a $0 amount and simply show a summary of your usage. However, you may see extra charges:

  • If you received automatic additional data.
  • If you used a service that wasn’t included as part of your plan.
  • If you were still in contract or hadn’t finished paying off a device on a Mobile Payment Plan.
 
If you cancel your service mid-way through your billing cycle, you won’t receive a credit or a reimbursement on your plan fees for a partial period.
 
If you’d like to pay your final bill through direct debit, please ensure that you don’t close your bank account before the direct debit has gone through.
Once my service has been closed, how do I pay my final bill online?

If your account has been closed and you’d like to pay your final bill online with a credit or debit card, you’ll need to use your account number as the payment reference.

You won’t be able to use your mobile number as the payment reference if your account is closed.

How do I request a refund if my final bill is in credit?

If your account is in credit from overpayment, we can refund you the credit balance. If you paid your account with direct debit and the credit amount is $5 or more, we'll automatically refund it to the bank account or credit/debit card you used.

If you paid your account by another payment method, or the credit amount is less than $5 or you paid, you can request a refund by calling 1555 from your Vodafone phone or 1300 650 410 from any phone.

Once my service has been closed, will I be able to access my bill?
If you receive your bill via email, you can download your bill for up to 90 days after disconnection. If you receive a paper bill, you will continue to receive your bill until there’s no outstanding balance. You won’t be able to access your bill through My Vodafone.
Once my service has been closed, what happens if I was sharing data with other plans?

There may be an impact to the other plans that you are sharing with. For more information, call us on 1555 from your Vodafone phone or 1300 650 410 from any phone.

Can I close a service if I’m not the account holder?

No. Only the account holder can request us to close a service. For more information, check out our support page about calling on behalf of someone else.

Once my service has been closed, will I be able to access My Vodafone?

No. You won’t be able to access My Vodafone once your account has been closed.

Once my service has been closed, will I be able to access my Vodafone voicemail?

No. You won’t be able to access your Vodafone voicemail once your account has been closed. Therefore, you will lose any saved voicemail messages.