Transfer your service from a plan to a prepaid recharge.

This support article will give you key information about transferring your service from a plan to a prepaid recharge. By transferring your service, you’ll be able to keep your current mobile number.

The transfer will normally be set to take place at the end of your next bill cycle. If required and if you don’t have any outstanding costs, our team can transfer the service when requested.

How to transfer your service.

 

Wait for your order

Transfer your mobile number

Transfer your mobile number across to prepaid by calling us on 1555 from your Vodafone phone or 1300 650 410.

Give us a call

Recharge your prepaid service

Recharge your prepaid service online within 90 days of the number transfer. If you don’t recharge, you won’t be able to make any calls, send SMS or use data until you do. We’ll disconnect your number if you don’t recharge within 90 days of the transfer.

Wait 3 hours

Register for My Vodafone

Register for My Vodafone for prepaid to access your prepaid account online via Wi-Fi or on a desktop. If you already registered for My Vodafone with your plan, you’ll need to re-register for prepaid.

Additional information.

How much will it cost to transfer my service to prepaid?

It’s free to transfer to your service to prepaid if you’re out of contract.

If you signed up to a Red Plus Plan or Red Plan with a Mobile Payment Plan, you’ll need to pay the remainder of your Mobile Payment Plan to transfer your service. You will also need to pay any outstanding charges on your account.

If you signed up to a Month to Month SIM Only Plan, there’s no cost to transfer your service.

If you’re on a 12 or 24 month plan and still within your contract period when you transfer your service, you’ll be charged an Early Exit Fee on your final bill. This fee is calculated by multiplying 50% of your monthly plan fee by the number of months you have left on your contract, plus 100% of any remaining device instalments.

For 24 month Tablet Plans, the Early Exit Fee is calculated by multiplying 65% of your monthly plan fee by the number of months you have left on your contract, plus 100% of any remaining device instalments.

If you have an Accessories Payment Plan or Mobile Payment Plan with any plan, you’ll need to pay them out before you transfer your service.

If you have an overdue account, you won’t be able to transfer your service until your account has been settled.

How will I be charged on my final bill?

Final bills are issued on the next billing date after disconnection. Your final bill will go to the last address you had with us. Please ensure that you provide us with an active email or postal address for your final bill. If you don’t receive your final bill, give us a call on 1300 650 410.

Our plans are charged one month in advance, which means when you cancel your service your final bill will typically be a $0 amount and simply show a summary of your usage. However, you may see extra charges:
• If you received automatic additional data.
• If you used a service that wasn’t included as part of your plan.
• If you were still in contract or hadn’t finished paying off a device on a Mobile Payment Plan.

If you transfer your service mid-way through your billing cycle, you won’t receive a credit or a reimbursement on your plan fees for a partial period. If you’d like to pay your final bill through direct debit, please ensure that you don’t close your bank account before the direct debit has gone through.

Once my service has been transferred, how do I pay my final bill online?

If your service has been transferred and you’d like to pay your final bill online with a credit or debit card, you’ll need to use your account number as the payment reference.

You won’t be able to use your mobile number as the payment reference if your service has been transferred.

How do I request a refund if my final bill is in credit?

If your account is in credit from overpayment, we can refund you the credit balance. If you paid your account with direct debit and the credit amount is $5 or more, we'll automatically refund it to the bank account or credit/debit card you used.

If you paid your account by another payment method, or the credit amount is less than $5 or you paid, you can request a refund by calling 1555 from your Vodafone phone or 1300 650 410 from any phone.

Once my service has been transferred, what happens if I was sharing data with other plans?

There may be an impact to the other plans that you are sharing with. For more information, call us on 1555 from your Vodafone phone or 1300 650 410 from any phone.

Can I transfer a service if I’m not the account holder?

No. Only the account holder can request us to transfer a service. For more information, check out our support page about calling on behalf of someone else.

Once my service has been transferred, will I be able to access My Vodafone for my postpaid service?

No. You won’t be able to access your postpaid plan’s My Vodafone once your service has been transferred. You also won’t be able to download your bills through My Vodafone. You will only be able to access My Vodafone for your new prepaid service.

Once my service has been transferred, will I be able to access my voicemail for my postpaid service?

No. You won’t be able to access your voicemail from your postpaid service once your service has been transferred to prepaid. Therefore, you’ll lose any saved voicemail messages. You will only be able to access voicemail for your new prepaid service.