Automatic additional data for your plan.

This support article will give you key information about automatic additional data when you go over your plan’s included data before the end of your billing cycle.

What happens if I use all of my plan’s included data?

If you use all of your plan’s included data, we’ll automatically add 1GB data for $10. This additional data will roll over to the end of your next billing cycle.

If you’re on a Plus Plan and use all of Your Max Speed data, you’ll then have data at speeds of up to 1.5Mbps in Australia. Data at speeds up to 1.5Mbps is not available with $5 Roaming, so if you use all of Your Max Speed data while on $5 Roaming, we’ll automatically add 1GB data for $10. This additional data can only be used with $5 Roaming, is not shareable and expires at the end of your billing month.

Additional information

Will I receive automatic additional data on my plan?

Automatic additional data is available on:
• Phone plans launched from 2 July 2014.
• Mobile Broadband plans launched from 13 August 2014.
• Tablet Plans.

If you’re on a Plus Plan, you’ll only receive automatic additional data if you use all of Your Max Speed data while on $5 Roaming. This additional data can only be used with $5 Roaming, is not shareable and expires at the end of your billing month.

If you're not sure what plan you're on, you can check in My Vodafone.

If you signed up to a phone plan before 2 July 2014 or Mobile Broadband plan before 13 August 2014, you won’t be eligible for automatic additional data. However, you can add a one-off Data Booster to your plan. This gives you an extra 1GB data to use in Australia for $10 until your next bill cycle. The best way to get a Data Booster is through My Vodafone.

What happens to the unused data if I don't use the 1GB?

Any additional data that you don’t use will roll over and expire at the end of your next billing month, unless you’re on a Plus Plan.

For Plus Plans, additional data you receive while using $5 Roaming expires at the end of your billing month. You can only use this additional data while you’re on $5 Roaming.

What happens if I use up the 1GB additional data?

We’ll automatically add another 1GB data for $10 to your plan.

Will I get additional data while on $5 Roaming?

Yes. If you go over your included data while you’re on $5 Roaming, we’ll automatically add another 1GB data the same as if you’re in Australia.

If you're on a Plus Plan, you can only use Your Max Speed data with $5 Roaming, along with your call and text inclusions. If you use all of Your Max Speed data while on $5 Roaming, we’ll automatically add 1GB data for $10. This additional data can only be used with $5 Roaming, is not shareable and expires at the end of your billing month.

How do additional data charges appear on my bill?

If you go over your plan’s data while you’re in Australia, it will be charged as ‘Additional National Data’ in the ‘Usage Summary’ section of your bill.

If you go over your plan’s data while you’re on $5 Roaming, it will be charged as ‘Additional Roaming Data’ on your bill. As GST doesn’t apply while roaming, you’ll only be charged $9.09 rather than $10.

Will I get Vodafone Alerts for the additional data I use?

Yes, you’ll get a Vodafone Alert when you’ve used 85% of your additional 1GB data. If you use up all of your additional 1GB data, we’ll send another Vodafone Alert to let you know another 1GB data has been applied.

You can check your usage and extra charges at any time through My Vodafone or by calling 1512.

Is additional data shareable?

Yes, your additional data is shareable unless you’re on a Plus Plan. If you’re on a Plus Plan, additional data you receive while using $5 Roaming won’t be shareable.

Can I switch off automatic additional data?

No. As this is the additional data rate for plans, you’ll be charged this any time you exceed your data inclusions. Check out our data usage support page for tips on managing your data usage.